Judging Other Bloggers and Why You Should Be Nice To Servers

August 4, 2011 Corie

I said in my very first blog post that I did not want you to judge me on my blog, twitter and facebook.  What I did not say was that you could not take what I write and judge me on another blog, facebook, twitter, whatever.  I read a woman’s entire blog last night and this morning and am still so outraged that I feel the need to come to my own blog and judge her (anonymously, I will not name her or her blog).  If that makes me a hypocrite, then so be it.  This is my blog, and if you don’t like what you are reading, feel free to click that little x in the corner of your screen.

In this woman’s blog, which is only 7 months old and consists of maybe fifty posts, three of them are solely dedicated to being mean to servers.  She talks about how she watched her dad be mean to servers growing up and that he points out every single thing that the server does wrong so that he or she can “improve themself”.  In another post she talks about how, maybe if she threatened to call their mothers every time they mess up, servers would do their jobs better.  That pisses me off so badly.

If you want to judge how nice a person is, don’t judge them on the way they treat the person at the table with them.  Judge them on the way they treat their waitress.  I am a waitress.  I have been a waitress for about 2 years all together, and I love my job.  I love working with people, I love serving food, I love all of it.  There are nights that I hate my job, of course, but generally, I love my job.  The only part of my job that I don’t like if the customers who are mean to you when something goes wrong.

I am not perfect.  Sometimes, I forget to put an order in on time, or run a salad before the food is ready.  There are always a million things going on at once, and every single thing needs to get done.  I am sorry that I cannot drop everything to get you a new bottle of ketchup the second that you ask, but I promise to get it to you within two minutes.  A lot of things that go wrong are my fault, but a lot of things that go wrong are not my fault at all, but the kitchen.  People never see the kitchen, so they blame everything on the person that they do see.

What bothers me most is that most of the people who judge me on my waitressing skills have never actually waited tables themselves.  If you have never done my job, how can you judge me?  You don’t know what I go through on a nightly basis.  Ok, rant over.  If I still have any readers, do me a favor and tip your waitress well the next time you go out to eat.  You don’t know what she is going through.

Entry Filed under: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Pages

Categories

Calendar

August 2011
S M T W T F S
« Jul    
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Most Recent Posts

 
