My Goal for the Month of August…

August 1, 2011 Corie

is to be furiously happy.  I never heard the term furiously happy until I watched this youtube video of a speech by blogger Jenny Lawson, over at TheBloggess.com (which is another blog you need to check out, by the way!)

http://ahref=

I am not a “furiously happy” person.  I allow myself to get in bad moods and then I am sullen and irritating.  My bad moods can completely ruin things that I was looking forward to.  On my last day of vacation, we went down to the beach, and for no apparent reason, I was in a really bad mood.  Instead of enjoying the beach like I had been, I was annoyed at the sand and the water and my son and just did not enjoy myself.  I realized that I was ruining my last day at the beach, but no matter what I did, I could not snap myself out of it. 

The other part of being furiously happy is doing stuff that makes you happy, regardless of what other people think.  I am very self concious and care what complete strangers think about me.  I wish that I didn’t (my blog would be a lot more interesting if I didn’t.)  Jenny said that she did a lot of crazy and potentially illegal things (like jumping in a fountain with a big do not swim sign) because it made her happy and she did not care what other people (like the police) thought.  I wish that I could be more like that.

That being said, for the month of August, my goal is to be furiously happy.  Every morning I am going to wake up and remind myself that, no matter what happens that day, I am going to make an effort to be furiously happy.  I am going to do things that I would normally be embarrased to do.  I am going to make an effort to actually feel happy instead of sullen.  It’s going to be hard, but I am going to try my hardest.

Entry Filed under: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Pages

Categories

Calendar

August 2011
S M T W T F S
« Jul    
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Most Recent Posts

 
