Not Your Average Mommy Blogger

July 28, 2011 Corie

I am a mommy. I am a blogger. Does that make me a mommy blogger?

Technically, it probably does. I fully intend to blog about my child at some point in time, but he is probably not what my blog will focus on. I want my blog to focus on my awesome new life during and after my divorce.

I don’t really think that I want to be considered a “Mommy Blogger” because I don’t feel like one. I read the blogs of a couple of different mommy bloggers and I don’t feel anything like either of them. Probably because they are crunchy mamas and I am a completely anti-crunchy mama.

Let me explain. I had never heard the term “crunchy mama” until I started reading different blogs. From my understanding, a crunchy mama is one who cloth diapers (because disposable diapers are killing our pelicans, or something like that) and breastfeeds until the child is two and only feeds organic, homemade baby food, etc. I am completely the opposite. I have used disposable diapers since the day he was born. I barely have time to wash our clothes, let alone diapers every day. I breastfed for 3 weeks until I got two abscesses and the doctor told me that I couldn’t breastfeed anymore. I think that if there was something in the Gerber baby food that was going to hurt my child, they would have found it a long time ago.

I don’t really have a problem with crunchy mamas, as long as they mind their own business and don’t try to shove their beliefs down my throat. I think that on your own blog, you should be able to write about anything that you are passionate about and if you are passionate about cloth diapering or breastfeeding, then by all means, go for it. Just don’t come on my blog (or twitter or facebook) and tell me that I am doing something wrong and I am killing our environment and ruining my child because I do things differently. I don’t judge you on your sites, you don’t judge me on mine, capiece?

Entry Filed under: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Pages

Categories

Calendar

July 2011
S M T W T F S
    Aug »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Most Recent Posts

 
